Board of Advisors

The Arctic Institute’s Board of Advisors is comprised of prominent figures in the Arctic research and policymaking community. They offer advice to the leadership team, counsel the Institute on their research and analysis, provide insights through analytical interviews on current events, and connect scholars with a wide range of resources.    

John Crump

Senior Adviser - Climate Change

GRID-Arendal Polar Centre

Klaus Dodds

Professor of Geopolitics

Royal Holloway,
University of London

Dr. John Farrell

Executive Director

U.S. Arctic Research Commission

Udloriak Hanson

Special Adviser and Chief Negotiator

Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami

Lassi Heininen

Professor of Arctic Politics

University of Lapland

R. Andreas Kraemer

Founder and Director Emeritus

Ecologic Institute, Berlin

Kristine Offerdal

Research Coordinator

Norwegian Institute for
Defense Studies (ISF)

Amb. Thordur Aegir Oskarsson


Embassy of Iceland in the United Kingdom

Rolf Tamnes


Norwegian Institute for
Defense Studies (ISF)